Inspiration: What I’m Reading #1

Comic Books

Batman: like always, I’m still reading my Batman. This run, with the sinister Mr Bloom, is very, very interesting. It’s been a while since any properly new Batman villains have emerged in the comics and I always like to see how they pan out. Bloom is freaking horrible. They’re doing some lovely stuff that’s kind of all based around identity now. If you haven’t picked up Batman before, now is the time to do it.

The Wicked + The Divine: this is once of my favourite independent comics of the last year. 12 gods, reborn, will only live for two years. So they decide to be rockstars. It’s a clever mixture of pop culture, fan identity and mythology that’s an emotional rollercoaster. It shows me the importance of proper research.

Saga: let’s not talk about Saga because it is crippling me.

Sex Criminals: not as weird as it sounds. Well… maybe. But not in that way. They rob banks to save libraries!!

Novels

Trigger Warning – Neil Gaiman: it’s no secret I love Gaiman. I’m going to do a proper post about it after I’ve read his Humble Bundle rarities. Trigger Warning is a fab collection of his short stories, all dark, all terrifying. And we finally get to find out what happened to the Marquis’ coat.

Witches Abroad – Terry Pratchett: I was slow on the Pratchett train, but I enjoy how he manages to mix humour, science and his own unique worldbuilding to create amazing narratives.

Leave a Reply

