Editing: The Proof (Read) of the Pudding

It’s been a long time, people, I know. But life.

I’ve got some spare time on my hands at the moment, for the first time in years. It’s a weird feeling, but it’s great, too, because it means that I am solely focused on something I should have done a really long time ago: finish that goddamn edit.

I started with The Summoner, which over the course of nearly 10 years has has several edits. I haven’t kept track. I just kept picking away at it. Last week, I sat myself down to finish the edit I started in MarchUnfortunately, Word had somehow deleted all my tracking and revisions.

Well, I knew I got pretty far in, so I started on Chapter 4.

twitter

Sigh. It was kind of okay, though. Without the blinkers of my revisions, I re-read all of those chapters thinking maybe I hadn’t edited them after all. It meant I actually did a further edit, which can’t be a bad thing, I guess.

Anyway, I finished that beast last week, and walked away for the weekend. Today, I went back and accepted all changes, and then started reading again.

This is my proof-read. This IS NOT another edit. You finally have to reach a point where you stop editing and start seeing it as a whole thing. Of course, I’m changing things here and there, but not to the crazy extent I was before, because I kind of trust myself now.

Already, I can see how much more mature the writing sounds. That’s good. And the story has a good flow, with acceptable tension, and mostly, I’m pleased with it.

Notice how I said in the first paragraph how I don’t know how many edits I’ve done, but I know that over the last 10 years, I’ve done a lot to this.

TEN. YEARS.

Obviously, this hasn’t been continuous editing. But I’m an edit-avoider, and I know it, and when I think of the work I’ve done on this thing, I feel kind of proud. I can’t count how many times I’ve read it. But I can see the fruits of my labours, finally, and it feels pretty good.

I’m moving on to Book 2, The Summoned, once I’ve done this re-read, which is a novel I’m proud of, anyway. Feeling positive, folks!

Leave a Reply

